You are here // Home // Levels of Spanish

Levels of Spanish: Common European Framework

Our Spanish level system is based on the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) used across the European Union to certify language proficiency. Accordingly, the credentials we offer are internationally recognised and once you finish a course with us you can pick up where you left off at any other Spanish language school. The origin of the CEFR is an international conference held in Switzerland in 1991 on "Transparency and Coherence in Language Learning in Europe". After the conference, the Swiss National Science Foundation set out to develop a level-based system of assessment for language proficiency. The CEFR, used today across Europe, is the direct result of these efforts. Our associate schools apply this system to determine their Spanish levels.

On your first day of class you'll take a Spanish placement test to determine your level of Spanish. You'll then be placed in the Spanish class most useful to you as a Spanish language learner according to your level.

Usuario Competente
(Proficient User)
Mastery (Fluency)
Effective Operational Proficiency (Advanced)
Usuario Independiente
(Independent User)
Vantage (Upper Intermediate)
Treshold (Intermediate)
Usuario Básico
(Basic User)
Waystage (Beginner)
Breakthrough (Absolute Beginner)

spanish language test

study and travel